What Is Gluten Free?


Gluten is a special type of protein that is commonly found in rye, wheat, and barley. This means it is found in most types of cereals and in many types of bread. Not all foods from the grain family, however, contain gluten. Examples of grains that do not have gluten include wild rice, corn, buckwheat, millet, amaranth, quinoa, teff, soybeans, and sunflower seeds.

Please note: "Gluten-free" usually refers only to the type of gluten found in wheat, barley, rye, kamut, spelt and triticale. Unfortunately, most oat stock has been found to be contaminated with wheat because of processing methods. Certain brands of oats (usually gourmet brands) may be marked "gluten-free." These contain oat gluten but not the type of gluten that can harm people with Celiac disease or gluten intolerance.

Celiac disease, which is an allergy to gluten, only affects some people. Individuals with celiac disease must eat foods that do not contain gluten in order to prevent illness. If improperly treated, celiac disease can be fatal. A diet without gluten is very restrictive, since one needs to purchase, specially prepared foods and take extra precaution against contact with food that contains gluten.

Eating desserts presents many obstacles for those following a gluten free diet since there are so many opportunities for cross-contamination with gluten. In any kitchen, shared utensils, common cooking surfaces and inadequate knowledge about storage and preparation methods can lead to cross-contamination and other problems for people following gluten free diets.

The Duke has thoroughly embraced these challenges and offers anyone following a gluten free diet a safe and pleasurable experience. He is meticulous about avoiding cross contamination with his gluten free desserts. He uses separate pots, strainers and utensils when handling any gluten free food. He also trained his staff in the special handling methods that are required when preparing and serving gluten free food.